Asthma

Welp, I got “something“. After months of having an annoying, unknown, sporadic breathing problem I went to a new doctor. I’ve never felt out of breath, gasping for air, or like I was in danger, so I didn’t know what I was dealing with. Plus, I always thought that asthma was something that you always had…didn’t know you could develop it later in life. Well, the new doctor told me otherwise. He said it is very hard to diagnose something so sporadic and mild like I have, but the description I gave was asthma. He prescribed an inhaler. He said if it seems to make me breathe easier when I’m having difficulty, that will be another data point in the diagnosis.

It’s weird. Not the asthma itself, but the “something”. I’m not exceptionally physically fit, but I’ve always been healthy. But now having “something” is messing with my head more than the asthma is messing with me physically.

It is similar to when I turned 40. The number itself wasn’t that big of a deal, but it was something. A few months ago my cousin Terri died. Even though I wasn’t close with her at all (to the point where I wouldn’t recognize her if she walked by), she was the first one of my generation. Then Col’s dad died. These are the life milestones, and they are hitting closer to home and with more frequency.

One thought on “Asthma

Leave a Reply

