Heels


I needed to ask Julia something tonight. She was locked in her bedroom. I knocked.

Julia: “Who is it?”
Me: “Daddy.”
Julia (as if I’m bothering her): “What do you want?”
Me (yelling because this has already taken longer than I expected): “I need to ask you something?”

Door unlocks and pops ajar. I hear Julia scamper as I walk in. She is sitting on her bed trying to act as if she wasn’t doing anything wrong. I notice she is wearing the dress for her upcoming recital.

Me (perplexed): “What are you doing in here?”
Julia (sheepishly): “I was practicing walking in heels for my recital.”
Me (now completely baffled): “And you needed to wear the dress for that too?!? Oh, never mind.”

Leave a Reply

